Giangiacomo Feltrinelli Foundation was founded in 1949 by Giangiacomo Feltrinelli as a Library. Transformed then into an Institute, it was established by law as a Foundation in 1974.

The current president of the Fondazione is Carlo Feltrinelli, Salvatore Veca is the Honorary President and the Secretary General is Massimiliano Tarantino.The Scientific Committee is composed of Maurice Aymard, Giuseppe Berta, Enrica Chiappero-Martinetti, Alessandro Colombo, Donatella della Porta, Maria Guercio, Mauro Magatti, Michele Salvati, Nadia Urbinati and Danilo Zolo.

Equipped with a library and archival heritage of international importance, comprising nearly 1.5 million archival items, 250,000 volumes and 16,000 journals, the Fondazione has always focused its activity on history, on the themes of equal society, on analysis and the proposal of models of interaction among citizens, their rights and their organizational representatives.

Giangiacomo Feltrinelli Foundation is one of the major European centers of research and documentation in the fields of historical, political, economic and social science.

The Giangiacomo Feltrinelli Foundation’s new project, on Viale Pasubio, Milan, was founded with a specific aim: to become a hub, a platform of debate between different realms, domains and players. To provide a network of contacts, inspiration and a space for constructive listening.

Since 1949, the Giangiacomo Feltrinelli Foundation has been developing research activities working towards creating bridges between hypotheses about the future and the resources within its own document archives, encouraging a learning from the past.

The Foundation also promotes a passionate investigation on issues at the core of this contemporary debate, combining research reflections with resources from its own heritage, in order to provide suggestions, images, texts and new tools for a possible future.

Organi statutari /

Carlo Feltrinelli
Honorary President
Salvatore Veca
Secretary General
Massimiliano Tarantino
Scientific Committee
Maurice Aymard
Giuseppe Berta
Alessandro Colombo
Enrica Chiappero-Martinetti
Donatella della Porta
Maria Guercio
Mauro Magatti
Michele Salvati
Nadia Urbinati
Danilo Zolo

Board of Directors
Giacomo Feltrinelli
Tomas Maldonado
Inge Schoenthal Feltrinelli
Salvatore Veca
Alessandro Profumo
Alberto Toffoletto
Giuseppe De Luca, Università degli Studi di Milano
Giuseppe Sala, Sindaco di Milano
Rodolfo Sala, Regione Lombardia