Giangiacomo Feltrinelli Foundation was founded in 1949 by Giangiacomo Feltrinelli as a Library. Transformed then into an Institute, it was established by law as a Foundation in 1974.

The current president of the Fondazione is Carlo Feltrinelli, Salvatore Veca is the Honorary President and the Secretary General is Massimiliano Tarantino.The Scientific Committee is composed of Maurice Aymard, Giuseppe Berta, Enrica Chiappero-Martinetti, Alessandro Colombo, Donatella della Porta, Maria Guercio, Mauro Magatti, Michele Salvati, Nadia Urbinati and Danilo Zolo.

Equipped with a library and archival heritage of international importance, comprising nearly 1.5 million archival items, 250,000 volumes and 16,000 journals, the Fondazione has always focused its activity on history, on the themes of equal society, on analysis and the proposal of models of interaction among citizens, their rights and their organizational representatives.